When will the NDIS be launched in my area?


The NDIS is being introduced in stages, because it is a big change and it is important to get it right.


In NSW the NDIS commenced in the Hunter area on 1 July 2013 for people up to age 65 living in the Local Government Areas of Newcastle, Maitland and Lake Macquarie.


The Nepean Blue Mountains Area opened on 1 July 2015 for children and young people under 18 years of age living in the Blue Mountains, Lithgow and Penrith Local Government Areas.


From 1 July 2016, you will be able to access the NDIS if you live in the following regions:

  • Central Coast
  • Hunter New England
  • Nepean Blue Mountains
  • Northern Sydney
  • South Western Sydney
  • Southern NSW
  • Western Sydney


If you would like to check whether your local area is covered under the NDIS, please click here for further details.


All eligible people with disability, living in NSW will be able to access the NDIS from 1 July 2018.


The NDIS has published an information pack to assist with participants transitioning to the NDIS. Please click here to view the information pack.